Bracing for the Storm

There’s not much point in talking about anything today, because all of the oxygen in the baseball world is being used up by people holding their breath for the Mitchell report.  I must say, there has been a better lid kept on this than I thought.  I was sure at least a few names would have come out yesterday.

What will we think if Cardinal players are named?  It’s statistically almost impossible that the organization would be missed–after all, if there are 90 names and 30 teams, an average team would have three (higher math there, I know).

I think it’s going to matter who they are.  And not only the superstar/scrub idea, but who they are as a person.

For example, we expect Mark McGwire to be on the list.  That wouldn’t change many people’s opinion of him.  In fact, it would be a headlining shock if he wasn’t on there.

It would affect how I look at players like Albert Pujols the most, though, if he were on there.  It’s not because he’s the big star, but because of the fact that he actively displays his Christian life.  I believe that not only does he talk the talk, but he usually walks the walk.  So it would be pretty disappointing to me if he were on there.

I don’t really want to guess who is on the list, either Cardinal or otherwise.  We’ll see this afternoon, I guess.

Just for a little baseball news, the non-tender list is out.  You’ll notice a certain pitcher on there that I continue to advocate the Cardinals pursue.

3 Responses to “Bracing for the Storm”

  1. Deaner Says:

    The possibility of Albert on the list had honestly never crossed my mind until you mentioned it… that would be a HUGE shock and disappointment.

  2. cardinal70 Says:

    I really don’t think it’ll happen, though Erik has posted that he thinks he could be over at VEB.

    I don’t remember when the stringent minor league testing went into place. I’m guessing that was after 2001? If not, you’d have thought he’d been caught there if he was using.

    And it’s not like he’s ever had much fluctuation, nothing in the stats that says, “Look at that jump, he’s got to be using.”

    Plus, if Clemens’s name is already coming out, there’s no WAY a name like Pujols would be able to be kept quiet.

    That’s what I’m thinking, at least.

  3. September Argrave Says:

    Thanks for sharing explanations and writing this post. Looking forward to more of your stuff. Hopefully you often update your homepage often since you have found a loyal visitor .


Leave a Reply

