Rolen Rumors Resurface

Floating around the internet are various rumors about the Cardinal third baseman. He’s going to Florida. He’s going to Minnesota. And a lot of Cardinal fans are telling Scott Rolen, “Go, please, anywhere.”

I’ve already commented on the whole “move Rolen” phenomenon. Nothing I said there has changed. I still believe that a healthy Scott Rolen will be an asset to the team. I think that he and LaRussa can coexist. They never will like each other, I’m sure. They may be too similar, too driven, for that to happen. But winning does tend to be salve on a lot of terrible situations. Even if they aren’t winning, but Rolen can get back to some career averages, he may feel better enough to take TLR with a grain of salt or at least not let him ruin his day.

Besides the fact that no one that is interested in moving Rolen has figured out who the heck is going to play third next year if he doesn’t. Do you want a year of Brendan Ryan and Miguel Cairo playing the hot corner? Even an injured Rolen could possibly give you more than that, especially if the league starts figuring out Ryan the way it has figured out players like McEwing and Hart. On top of that, you’d be paying whatever portion of Rolen’s salary for them to play there. That make sense to you?

Look, Rolen may not end his career in Cardinal red. I’d hate for that to happen, but it’s a possibility. But you can’t trade a guy after the worst season of his career and coming off of surgery. Heck, I think I’M worth more than Rolen in the trade market right now. (Rumor has it Seattle is actively looking for a mid-range blogger.)

I know that Mozeliak floated Rolen’s name around the GM meetings, but a lot of names were tossed out there to see what came back. The odds of Rolen going anywhere this year are slim to none. At best, a midseason trade if he’s proved that he’s come back. But if he’s made the trip back to his averages, why would we want him traded again?

Off-topic: Some of you may have seen the comment left on my about page yesterday. After exchanging e-mails, I’ve agreed to review the book mentioned. So look for that in a couple of weeks, hopefully before Thanksgiving.

11 Responses to “Rolen Rumors Resurface”

  1. Deaner Says:

    I was also asked to review that same book. Interesting… I wonder why the publisher has chosen the Cardinals blogosphere to get the word out about this book?

  2. cardinal70 Says:

    1) We’re cheap. All it takes is a free book and they get word of mouth going.

    2) The target audience for the book is probably younger, which would tie into blogger audiences.

    3) It may be part of a multi-media approach with a more traditional paper review as well.

    Looking forward to seeing if your review is similar to mine!

  3. tom@cardinalsgm.com Says:

    First, I agree with all you say about keeping Rolen. Only if we get blown away with an offer do we let him go.

    Second, I also was asked to review the book.

    Maybe the writer knows the intelligence level of the Cardinal bloggers and knows that is the place to start. 🙂

  4. cardinal70 Says:

    Hey, like I told her, a free book and you got me!

  5. Rockin' the Red Says:

    I really think that Scott Rolen is still one of the top 3rd basemen in all of baseball, injuries and all. If we trade him, we better be getting significant value in return. His contract is really not that bad compared to the market now. I think we keep him unless Matt Garza comes into the conversation.

  6. tom@cardinalsgm.com Says:

    Anyone hear a follow-up on that book?

  7. cardinal70 Says:

    The last e-mail I got asked for my address. The message I sent back said the woman was out for a long weekend.

    I’d expect to hear something Monday or Tuesday.

  8. Look around the blog world | Cardinals GM Says:

    […] Cardinal 70 pipes in on the Rolen rumors that he may be dealt this winter. I agree with him that a healthy Scott Rolen is better than most other players. I we get blown away with an offer, we have to do it. […]

  9. Reading the Paper « C70 at the Bat Says:

    […] Rolen Rumors Resurface […]

  10. The Best St. Louis Sports Arguments: A Review « C70 at the Bat Says:

    […] Sports Arguments: A Review November 17, 2007 — cardinal70 Recently, I (along with some other Cardinal bloggers) was asked to review a new book coming out.  Being that it got me a free book and I’m an […]

  11. Look around the blog world - Cardinals GM | Cardinals GM Says:

    […] Cardinal 70 pipes in on the Rolen rumors that he may be dealt this winter. I agree with him that a healthy Scott Rolen is better than most other players. I we get blown away with an offer, we have to do it. […]


Leave a Reply

