Back to Front

Yesterday’s big Cardinal news was that Russ Springer will be returning for another year. Couple that with the team picking up Izzy’s option and signing Franklin to an extension earlier in the year, and almost all of this year’s bullpen will be returning. That’s probably a good thing, but I have a few doubts.

It seems to me that relievers can fluctuate a lot. For his career, Springer is a pitcher with a 4.70 ERA. Here are his ERA numbers for the last eight seasons:

Year ERA
2000 5.08
2001 7.13
2002 DNP
2003 8.31
2004 2.63
2005 4.73
2006 3.47
2007 2.18

Now, obviously, this wasn’t a terrible deal for the Cardinals to make, but it seems to me that bullpen pitchers and bench players are types that you can find on the cheap that will do a serviceable job for you. I understand the Cardinals wanting to at least feel like their ‘pen is strong due to the instability in the rotation and, being that there is no GM, you aren’t going to have too many bold moves made. I’m just afraid the Cards are going to hang on to people like Springer a year too long.

Other than that, still in the holding pattern in Cardinal land.  There’s talk that the GM search is proceeding quickly, with phone calls weeding out those they don’t necessarily need to see in person, but I’d still be surprised if one is named in the next week.  I again repeat that I hope one is in place before the Series is over.  Otherwise, the Cardinals will really be behind the eight ball.

Totally off-topic, but apparently the best thing I ever did for this site’s views was to use Harry Potter in a post title.   Daily, I get people here searching for “Harry Potter pitchers”.  I assume these people have slipped in their typing and really want pictures of the boy wizard, but hey, whatever gets ’em here.

2 Responses to “Back to Front”

  1. Rockin' the Red Says:

    I think this is a good move. The last thing we need to worry about this off-season is the bullpen, so it’s good that we were able to get 2 major guys locked in before free agency even starts.

  2. cardinal70 Says:

    I guess so, I just think that’s a lot of money to pay a guy like him when you aren’t committed to a large bump in payroll. Hopefully he’ll be as solid as he was this year, but I’m not sure we can count on that.


Leave a Reply

